Stacks Image 515
"Mannin Veen" - Composed by Haydn Wood (1882-1959)
Arranged for 10-piece Brass (Dectet) by Russell Gilmour
Mannin Veen or “Dear Isle of Man” is a tone poem by the English-born, Manx-bred composer Haydn Wood. Haydn Wood is considered to be one of the “Manx Worthies” along with famous designer Archibald Knox and several other famous names.

This tone poem lasts for approximately ten minutes and includes some of the best folk tunes from the Isle of Man: "The Good Old Way", "The Manx Fiddler", "Sweet Water in the Common" and the "Manx Fisherman's Evening Hymn". These folk tunes intertwine towards the end of the work. The piece was originally for full orchestra and was later transcribed for Wind Orchestra. This ten-piece Brass Ensemble arrangement will hopefully mean that this fantastic work will be performed more frequently.
Trumpet 1 in Bb & Eb
Trumpet 2 in Bb
Trumpet 3 in Bb
Flugelhorn in Bb
Horn in F
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
Trombone 3
Bass Trombone

Digital Download:

£20.00 GBP