Stacks Image 513

• Approximately Grade 1 Standard.
• In triple time.
• Differentiated parts.
• Dynamics for section playing and accompaniment.
• Flexible structure to enable extension or diminution.
• Introduces ground bass and ostinato patterns.
• Key word: Chaconne.
"Chaconne of the Birds!" - Composed by Russell Gilmour
Composed for Junior Concert Band by Russell Gilmour
This piece is the second in the Junior Concert Band Collection (JCBC). The JCBC was inspired by the innovative new instrumental 'hubs' in London. These 'hubs' give students the opportunity to continue learning the instrument that they were taught in school as part of the wider opportunities programme, with other students from other schools.

There are a wealth of arrangements and compositions available for young orchestras (including string orchestras) and youth brass bands, but we very quickly found that there are very few resources for young wind orchestra ensembles.

The wider opportunities programme has given rise to greater numbers of young instrumentalists playing in ensembles. The combination of instrumentalists in each cohort has been variable. Resultantly, I decided to make my own arrangements, transcriptions or compositions which were tailored to the students and to the particular instrumentation required. The experience of directing and teaching the resulting pieces to the ensemble has allowed me to review and refine many of my initial ideas. It is these that form the basis of this collection.

This triple-time piece encourages section playing. The piece, subtitled 'Chaconne of the Birds' uses the 'cuckoo' theme over a ground bass. This ground bass is easy to learn and is repeated many times in different instrumental textures. The 'cuckoo' theme comes back in different places and there is a tune which introduces the idea of using four semiquavers (16ths), a dotted quaver (dotted 8th) followed by one semiquaver (16th) as well as normal quavers (8ths).

• Concert Pitch Score
• Transposed Pitch Score
• Flute 1
• Flute 2
• Clarinet 1 in Bb
• Clarinet 2 in Bb
• Trumpet 1 in Bb
• Trumpet 2 in Bb

Digital Download:

£25.00 GBP